7 Chakras and How to Balance Them

7 Chakras

The 7 Chakras are spinning wheels of energy light within the body. There are seven main central chakras, but our bodies are made up of many of these energy disks. Chakra comes from the Sanskrit word meaning disk or wheel. The word is derived from the root Sanskrit word ‘Cakra‘.

The 7 Chakras

The bodies seven primary chakra system runs somewhat down the center of our bodies. Chakras are responsible for taking care of emanating energy and are associated with surrounding each gland and organ. When we become stressed, have a physical or emotional illness, the Chakra system may become blocked.

Healing the system by unblocking or clearing the system may provide relief. The following series takes a more in-depth look at this very complex system and helps one gain an understanding of what the 7 main Chakras are and how to care for them.

First Chakra / Root Chakra / Muladhara Chakra

First Chakra / Root Chakra – Muladhara

The first chakra is the Root Chakra, which in Sanskrit is called the Muladhara Chakra. A lotus symbolizes the Root Chakra with four petals and the color red.

Second Chakra / Sacral Chakra / Swadhistana

Second Chakra / Sacral Chakra – Swadhistana

The Sacral Chakra represents creativity, personal energy, sexuality, and overall health. This chakra receives universal life force energy and activates our intuitive essence

Solar Plexus Chakra

Third chakra / Solar Plexus – Manipura

The Solar Plexus chakra represents your self-esteem, willpower, self-discipline, and personalityLocated in your naval this chakra is also referred to as the Manipura chakra.

The Heart Chakra

Fourth chakra / Heart Chakra – Anahata

The Heart Chakra represents your sense of compassion, feelings of self-love, generosity, kindness, and respect. The fourth chakra is called Anahata in Sanskrit, which translates to unstruck sound.

The Throat Chakra

Fifth Chakra / Throat Chakra – Vishuddha

The Throat Chakra represents truth, self-expression, listening, and communication. In Sanskrit, Vishuddha is the name used for the fifth chakra which means purification.

The Third Eye Chakra

Sixth Chakra / Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

The Third Eye Chakra also known as Ajna represents intuition, observation, lucid dreaming and concentration. Ajna in Sanskrit means to “perceive” or “beyond wisdom.”

The Crown Chakra

Seventh Chakra / The Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

The Crown Chakra represents soul, liberation, spiritual truth, insight, thought, and higher consciousness. It is also called Sahasrāra which means “thousand-petaled” in Sanskrit.

[interact id=”5e2746e2b5c10800149a8e4f” type=”quiz”]

A table of meanings, colors, symbols, signs and gestures for chakras, mudras and mantras. Image of the positions of the hands with mantras, matching colors and chakras with detailed descriptions.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *